Not dead yet

I bet I know what you’re thinking, and you’re right.

You haven’t heard from me for a while.

There are a myriad of reasons, but the TL;DR version of it is this:

I’ve been taking a break from doing this writing thing seriously to focus on my mental and physical health. I’ve been going on adventures, clearing out the cobwebs, and finding my passion again.

The biggest change? I’m no longer writing under the pseudonym Matthew J. Hellscream.

This was a nom de plume that I was using when I was almost a completely different person. The last couple of years of my life have been the hardest, and happiest, of my life so far. The person I was two years ago doesn’t fit the path that I’m on now. I’ve outgrown him, and I’m happy to leave that broken creature in my wake.

Worry not. I still write dark fiction to die for.

crematoriaonline1My next book is Order of the Crimson Queen – Crematoria Online: Book One.

It’s very different from anything you’ve read of mine in the past. It’s a GameLit novel, which means that it contains elements of game mechanics, metagaming and an assumed knowledge-base of how role-playing games work.

Unlike other GameLit novels on the market, Order of the Crimson Queen is a LitARPG. A Literary Action RPG. It’s a fast-paced action thrill-ride through a gothic horror world, written for fans of Diablo, Bloodborne, Elder Scrolls and Dark Fantasy fiction.

I’m also juggling a couple of other projects, but it’s a bit early to talk details about those just yet.

Thank you to those who’ve stuck around. Your support means the world to me. I’ll have more dark fiction for you very, very soon.

Stay bleak.
Matthew